The Janet Cullen Tanaka
$1500 Geosciences Undergraduate
Scholarships since 1989

Eligibility Requirements

  • Undergraduate women committed to completing a Bachelor’s Degree and pursuing a career or graduate work in the geosciences, including:
  • Geology, environmental/engineering geology, geochemistry, geophysics, hydrogeology or hydrology.
  • Sophomore, junior, or senior women enrolled in a university or 2-year college in the states of Washington or Oregon.
  • Minimum of 3.2 GPA (or equivalent academic achievement).
  • Deadline: December 30, 2023.
  • Watch for a new announcement in the fall.

Application Documents

Past Chapter Scholarship Recipients

2022Haskelle WhiteOSU
2021Alexis NaranjoCWU
2020Mandy JacksonNorth Seattle College
2019Katelyn FrizzellWWU
2018Bonnie BakerPSU
2017Katie BrowerWWU
2015Adriana PetersPLU
2013Emma MeyersWWU
2012Adrenne NicholsPSU
2011Symone Stinson
Bridget Smith ($500)
Clackamas CC
2010Xiyue ‘Sally’ Zhang
Symone Stinson ($500)
Linn Benton CC
2009Alyssa PrattWOU
2008Sarah RodgersCWU
2007Susan BlackUW: Tacoma
2006Jennifer FernandezWWU
2005Jennifer PerryCWU
2004Melinda Menke ShimizuCWU
2003Paula YorkPierce College
2002Emily MullenWWU
2001Eliza GhitisSCCC
2000Robin SmithGRCC
1999Elaine SilleyWWU
1998Laura ForrestGRCC
1997Jennifer HildenPLU
1996Nancy SaundersGRCC
1995Lua OlsenWWU
1994Emily InkpenPLU
1993Robin StephaniEvergreen State College
1992Michele LaFontainePierce College
1991Lynne Holland 
1990Anna Christine HazeltonWWU
1989Mary RainesWWU

Our scholarship is financed by donations. to make a donation to our scholarship fund, there are two ways:

The AWG Foundation is a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) corporation. Your donations are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.

%d bloggers like this: